Review&Swatches : Miss Claire/VOV Soft Matte Lip Creams [NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream Dupes]

I’m baaack with another Miss Claire review. I’m sorry for those of you living outside of India who can’t find this brand, I think it’s not easy finding it here in Bombay either, to be honest. Like I said in my last Miss Claire review, the products are available in local beauty stores, New Beauty Centre in Khar and Alfa 2 in Vile Parle West. 

20150409_155107-1 This time, I’m reviewing the Miss Claire/VOV Soft Matte Lip Creams. I write /VOV because out of the 4 shades I have, they all have identical packaging, but one of them says VOV and the rest say Miss Claire. The ingredients are the same as well, and since VOV is another popular Korean makeup brand, perhaps Miss Claire and VOV are under the same company.

(VOV has a website with all their products, a few of which you get here, but for some weird reason their website is in Russian. Click HERE to check it out. )

Let me start off by saying these are exact 1:1 copies of the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams, which I do not own but have seen and heard enough about to say so confidently. Are they just as good? I don’t think so, except one of them. The major problem with these is that they’re all very inconsistent and not the best quality, because after a while, they start feeling really silicone-y on the lips and separate easily. 20150409_155132-1

I have four shades- 01, 08, 09 and 12. These cost me between INR 160 to 180. ($2.50 to $2.80)

All of them have a strong candy vanilla scent that can be unpleasant if you’re not fond of scented lipsticks. I don’t mind it very much but it can be bothersome.

20150409_160607

Top to Bottom : 12, 01, 08, 09.

20150409_155711-1-1

08 is a mid-toned bright pink. It’s warm and subtle enough for everyday wear. When I first got this one, it applied like a dream; creamy, pigmented and set within a minute or two. Now, after a few months, it feels silicone-y and dry. The pigment seems to separate on my lips and it’s not quite as opaque as it used to be.

20150409_155548-1-1

09 is a peachy nude. I have a love/hate relationship with this. I love the colour, hate the consistency. If there’s one thing they could have done right while mimicking the original SMLCs, it would’ve been the texture. This one again is sheer and separates easily. It sets but doesn’t seem to last very long. I need to build it up with two or three coats for maximum opacity. I still wear it though because it’s a very flattering nude on Indian skin.

20150409_155941-1

01 is a bright coral red. I love this colour! The texture is on the drier side, but it’s pigmented and applies smoothly. It lasts for about 3-4 hours before wearing out towards the center and leaving the ring of doom around your lips. ICK.

20150409_160116-1

12 is a gorgeous berry colour. This one is my absolute favourite because it performs the best in terms of colour, texture as well as longevity. It’s creamy, opaque and pigmented in a single swipe. It sets within two minutes or so and it stays on for a good 4-5 hours. Even when it fades away, it leaves a pretty stain behind.

My overall verdict on these? They have a beautiful colour selection, and since NYX SMLCs aren’t easily available in India, they’re a good alternative. I just wish they’d done a better job with the consistency and texture of these, but at the price you’re paying I can’t complain.

Would I recommend these? Yes, but only #12 because it’s GAWJUS. 

12910101

Leave a Reply

