Review&Swatches : L’Oreal Infallible Eye shadows (Hourglass Beige & Midnight Blue)

image

Summer is officially upon is in Bombay and it’s hotter than ever. Honestly, I can’t leave my house without sweating buckets and ruining my makeup. I’ve taken the minimal route and if you live in similar weather conditions as I do, you should too.

Because I’ve been holed up in my room these days, I thought I’d do another review of a much loved and hyped product that I thought deserved some spotlight. They’re the L’Oreal La Couleur Infallible Eyeshadows. I have mine in two shades, Hourglass Beige and Midnight Blue.

image

According to L’Oreal USA’s website, the claims they make for these are “Intense, maximized color. Luxurious powder-cream texture. 24-hour long-lasting hold. Waterproof, crease resistant, fade resistant.” Big and bold claims, but boy are they intense!

image

I really love the packaging. It’s a sleek little plastic tub with the colour peeking through from the back and the lid on top has a sticker of the shade colour as reference with the product name and details. There’s a black plastic stopper (?not sure what to call this) which keeps the shadow pressed down.

Hourglass Beige is a beautiful light champagne pearl colour with a very slight hint of pink. Its very pigmented and almost metallic when swatched, a little goes a long way. Think Stila Magnificent Metals kind of texture.

image

I’m slightly disappointed by the texture of this because it’s kind of flaky and not as smooth as I’d want it to be. When applied on the lid, it’s a bit patchy and you really need to blend it out for smooth application. I suggest you use your fingers for applying these, for maximum colour payoff. They’re essentially pressed pigments and brushes don’t do them justice.

image

Midnight Blue is exactly as the name suggests – a deep royal iridescent blue. If you want to try the blue eyeshadow trend, this is a great colour to pick up because it isn’t in your face and looks gorgeous smudged under the lower lash line with a pencil brush.
I really had no issues with this. It’s hard to find a good shade of blue, the struggle is very much real. The pigmentation again is rich with beautiful colour payoff. The texture on this is much better too. None of that flakiness which I experienced with the other shade. It swatched smoothly.

These are extremely long lasting eyeshadows. L’Oreal wasn’t kidding with the claims. They don’t budge, I have these on my lids for 6 to 8 hours through humidity and travelling, and they stay intact. I like using Hourglass Beige as an all over lid colour, or for brightening the tear ducts.

The shadows are priced at Rs. 450 for 3.5g. A little goes a long way with these, so I’m definitely gonna have them for ages. Worth it, I think.
So, that’s it. What’s your opinion on these? Which shades do you have and which one is your favourite? I’m definitely picking up more shades. Better late than never.
If you liked this review, please like, comment and follow! Leave your suggestions in the comments. I’d love to hear them.
okaybye!

Leave a Reply

