Tips I’ve learned to keep your makeup looking natural

I don’t exactly remember when I got into makeup, but I’m sure everybody else relates to this when I say it wasn’t always a breeze to not look full blown cake-face. Over the years, I’ve tried and tested a lot of random makeup products, ended up hating most of them and loved a few of them.

It’s not really easy to maintain a natural finish to your makeup, especially when it’s on a daily basis when you have limited time to implement all these tips and tricks. Here are a few of my easy, possibly predictable but still very helpful tips to have your makeup look fresh, non-cakey and natural all day.


Oil free moisturizer + a small pump of liquid lighlighter

Oil-Free MoisturizerBenefit Sun Beam Highlighter

If you have oily skin like mine, an oil free, lightweight and watery based moisturiser is what you need under your makeup for that extra moisture. If you have dry or combination skin, go for a regular moisturiser or something like BioOil. What the highlighter does is it adds that touch of natural glow which your skin wants and needs in the morning for it to look awake.


Straight Brows and a touch of light brow pencil

Okay, maybe I’ve been watching a lot of Korean dramas but the straight brow look is perfect for a natural finish. Your eyebrows look youthful, natural and not overdone or sharp. If your eyebrows have a natural arch to them, try faking it by extending the tail of the brow straight out rather than following the arch. If you have natural bushy brows, fill them in lightly in straight short strokes with an eyebrow pencil a shade lighter than usual.


Skip the brush, use your fingers

A trick that’s easy to do and legit works. You don’t always need to use a sponge or a brush to apply your foundation or BB cream. Just rub it in with your fingers. Your fingers are your best tool and really work the product into the skin and give a natural, dewy finish. Do the same for your concealer, because your fingers warm up the product well and help melting it right into your pores. Use patting motions with your concealer, rubbing motions with your base.


Blush for everything

This is my newest discovery and I love it, it’s my go-to. Lately, I’ve been skipping on the bronzer and highlighter, and just using a neutral or earthy blush all over my face for the warmth. I’ve learned that focusing a bit of blush on the very tip of your nose, your hairline and the pointy bit of your chin gives a very natural, rosy finish to your face. I use a different, lighter pink for the apples of my cheeks for some contrast. Two shades of blush > one. My favourite is theĀ e.l.f Studio Blush Palette in light.


Easy on the powder

Rather than powdering your entire face, focus on the areas that really need it the most. Since I’m oiliest on my T-zone, sides of my nose, eyelids and cheeks, this is where I focus my powder. Try using an oil blotting powder which has no colour, so it doesn’t interfere with the natural finish of you base, and lightly tap it on the areas with a fluffy powder brush. Carry both things with you for touching up. I’m currently using my e.l.f Studio HD powder.


A hint of lipstick

Pick a ‘my lips but better’ shade to finish off your natural look, and don’t apply it straight from the bullet. Dab it on the inside of your lips and blend outwards for a subtle gradient effect, without the heavy lipstick application. My current favourite for this is Wet ‘n Wild Megalast lip colour in Spiked With Rum, since it gives my lips a boost of colour.

Besides these tips, I skip the eyeliner and just go for a black-brown mascara for naturally tinted lashes. No highlighter, no eyeshadow and definitely no bronzer.

Were these tips helpful for you? I’d love to know what you guys thought in the comments, and let me know if you have some helpful tips from your side as well.

Bye!

Leave a Reply

