My Lipstick Collection – REDS

I’m starting this new series; It’s gonna be my lipstick collection and every week I’m going to feature a different colour family because I think that’s really interesting for people to know which shades and what kind of finish they prefer.

Can you have too many red lipsticks? I always try to ask myself these makeup related questions and never have the right answer, so I’m not going to answer this because clearly, I have 9 that I use pretty regularly, and that’s a fairly decent number.

IMG_20151127_131330

I tend to move towards blue based reds, because I think they really bring out my warm complexion plus they make your teeth look white. Yay!

(How can you tell if a colour is blue based or yellow based? A blue based red will be more towards the pinkier side. Think, if you mix blue with solid red, you’ll get more of a purple, right? As opposed to yellow, which will give you more of an orange tone)

So without further ado, here’s my red lipstick collection!

MENOW POWDERY MATTE KISS PROOF SOFT LIPSTICK – 013 ($1.32)

IMG_20151127_130217

I featured this in my previous review, and I know I didn’t give these a very positive rating but honestly, they’ve grown on me! The darker shades really work well with a hint of balm underneath, and they’re so so matte.

WET N WILD MEGALAST LIP COLOR – RED VELVET ($1.99 – $2.75)

IMG_20151127_130301

I love these Wet n’ Wild lipsticks! They’re so affordable and creamy, and have a creamy matte finish. I already have 5 of them. This is a beautiful vibrant shade of poppy red, ultra pigmented with a lovely finish.

HOURGLASS OPAQUE ROUGE LIQUID LIPSTICK – ICON ($10 for the small size)

IMG_20151127_130356

Finally, a high end product makes its way into my list! My sister gifted this to me when I was in the US because she swears by it and I can see why. It’s the perfect evening red with just the right amount of blue. It’s a liquid lipstick, so it goes on smooth and sets matte and doesn’t budge. The packaging is amazing, too. Look how cuuuute!

COLORBAR MATTE TOUCH LIPSTICK – RICH RED (INR 475)

IMG_20151127_130317

This shade is very similar to the MeNow pencil; a classic red with a matte finish. Handy in a bullet form as well as pencil form, right?

MAYBELLINE COLORSENSATIONAL LIPSTICK – PLEASURE ME RED (INR 399)

IMG_20151127_130238

My first red lipstick! I bought this a couple of years ago, before which I was way too scared to wear red. This is still one of my favourites though! It’s more towards a neutral red than a blue based one, but it has a very creamy finish and smells great too. Maybelline rarely disappoints.

BURT’S BEES LIP CRAYON – NAPA VINEYARD ($10)

IMG_20151127_130224

My friend gifted this to me because it was her favourite shade of red (I sense a pattern here) and now it’s one of my favourites too! It’s a beautiful crimson red and the best part about this is that it’s matte but so hydrating on the lips. I love twist up lip crayons as well, so that’s a plus.

REVLON SUPER LUSTROUS LIPSTICK – LOVE THAT RED (INR 550) 

IMG_20151127_130307

A gorgeous bright red with a very creamy texture, the Revlon range of lipsticks are a classic option when it comes to pigmented and long-wearing lipsticks. I like wearing this as a tint.

LAKME ENRICH SATINS – 360 (INR 240)

IMG_20151127_130249

Who doesn’t know the Lakme Enrich lipsticks? We grew up with our moms wearing these in hideous shades of frosty brown and bright red, and they’ve still stuck around. This is a deep brick red, glides on easily, lasts long, all that jazz. It’s so cheap, too!

CAILYN ART TOUCH TINTED LIP GLOSS – LOVE AFFAIR ($9.60)

IMG_20151127_130344

This isn’t a lipstick, it’s a tinted lip gloss with the most unique finish! It feels like a cross between a lip oil and a non-sticky lip gloss. Feels great on the lips and the colour is like a deep burgundy red. I like to layer this on top of my red lipsticks for a creamy, glossy finish.

IMG_20151127_130723

FotorCreated

If I had to pick one of these, which one would it be? I’d have to go with the Hourglass liquid lipstick, simply because it fits all the criteria for me when it comes to a red lip. The colour, pigmentation, application and longevity.

4 thoughts on “My Lipstick Collection – REDS

Leave a Reply

