Review & Swatches : Maybelline White Superfresh 12HR Whitening + Perfecting Compact + A little rant

I’m back! I’m not slacking anymore, are you happy? I’m happy. I’m being a little productive, and that’s good enough for me to stay motivated. I’m reviewing one of Maybelline’s new products, which I’m kinda meh about. You’ll find out why.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Maybelline’s recent release in India is the Maybelline White Superfresh 12HR Whitening + Perfecting Compact, which I’m going to review today.

Maybelline’s description [at the back of the compact case] :

Women feel their complexion looks and feels best in the morning- right after applying the compact. However, as the day goes on, ordinary compacts may mix with sweat and oil. Making the complexion look dark, dull and patchy. And feel cakey and dirty.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

It comes in 3 shades, Pearl, Shell and Coral and retails for Rs 150 for 8g. Super cheap, right? I was really surprised. I’m going to rant a little more about the shades at the end of the review. The shade I picked up is Coral, the ‘darkest’ of the lot.

 

So right from the description, I have a slight problem with this product. Whoever wrote this, definitely needs to go over their grammar a few times because you’re writing for a company like Maybelline and this is what you come up with? Seriously?  Maybelline is one of my favourite drugstore companies but this was just disappointing.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Anyway, the compact comes in a study plastic white case (It’s simple and sleek, I like the packaging) with a mirror on the inside and a thin puff. Personally speaking, this puff SUCKS! It’s one of the cheap ones which has a leathery finish on one side and a fur-like finish on the other side but it really doesn’t pick up a lot of product and I just feel like it ends up absorbing the oil off my face rather than actually applying the powder like it’s supposed to.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The powder itself is not bad at all. It’s rather smooth and has a very pleasant scent, kind of like baby powder. I applied it with a powder brush  (the puff is okay to blot at certain oily areas but overall, it doesn’t do much) and it gave me a thin powdery white cast on my face. Now, the colour looks like a perfect match for me in the pan, but when swatched, you can see that it’s significantly lighter. I’d say it’s equivalent to a MAC NW35, because it has a neutral undertone, not very yellow. It looks deceiving in the pan.

The lasting power on me wasn’t very good. I have extremely oily skin and the weather’s been dry lately so the oiliness is a little under control. I had to touch up every hour or two, with the oiliness visible at the T-zone and sides of my nose.

It’s supposed to ‘whiten’ your skin. I’m not sure what that means but if they mean it’s lighter on your face than it should be, then that’s accurate. I’m close to a MAC NC40-42 for reference and this was a bit ‘white’ on me, and that’s not a look I like to go for.

Overall, it’s not a bad powder for the price. I’d recommend it if you were within the NC35 shade range, but anything higher and this will give you a white cast.

Processed with VSCO
No foundation, just the concealer and powder on my skin as a base.

RANT TIME! 

After all these years, why do international (and domestic) brands feel like all Indian women come in three shades? And why are all three shades targeted towards light skinned women? Look around you, India isn’t a country full of fair skinned women. It infuriates me that they keep releasing products which are meant to ‘whiten’ and ‘instantly lighten’ your complexion, while being an unrealistic shade for anyone who’s even a little bit dusky.

When I went to Germany, I faced the same problem. It sort of makes sense though, because 91.5% of Germany’s population is native German, i.e Caucasian. When I was in America, they had shades from the lightest to the darkest skin tone possible. That made me happy. In India, being ‘dark’ is still considered a bad thing, and this needs to change. More cosmetic companies need to focus towards realistic shades while releasing makeup products. Yes Lakme, Lotus and all you other Indian companies. I’m talking to you.

/endrant

Phew. Well. That escalated quickly. What do you think of this product, and what is your opinion on brands in India with their limited shade range and the general mentality of people here? Please let me know in the comments, I’d love to know what everyone else thinks.

I’ll see you soon in my next post!

 

Leave a Reply

